Department was established in 1995 in old building in sir takhtsinhji hospital campus with annual intake capacity of 50 students. In March 2000 department was shifted to newly construct spacious college building near state transport depot. Department is located on fourth floor and has infrastructure adequate to cater the need of 150 admissions per year. In the academic year 2006-07 with permission of medical council of india intake capacity is raised to 100 students per year. Department also participate in teaching laboratory methods in Microbiology to students of medical laboratory technicians training course run by directorate of medical education and research, govt. of gujarat for inservice and outside candidates over and above undergraduate course leading to m.b.b.s. degree Department wishes to start postgraduate (m. d.) course in subject of Microbiology and expect inspection from medical council of india in october 2006 Govt. of gujarat has decided to apply to central government to raise undergraduate admission capacity to 200 from academic year 2019.

Head of the Department


For Teaching and Training

  • Lecture hall - expandable up to 200.
  • Demonstration/tutorial rooms - Capacity 85 seats
  • Clinical Microbiology laboratory - Capacity 100 seats
  • Experimental Microbiology laboratory - Capacity 100 seats
  • Research, Clinical Microbiology & Microbiology research laboratories
  • Teaching aids - LCD projector, Overhead projectors, Automatic & manual slide projectors
  • software for computer aided learning, simulation experiments etc.
  • VRDL establishment proposal approved by DHR - ICMR.


Instruments available in the department

Sr no



Real Time RT PCR with UPS


Refrigerated Centrifuge


NABL Accreditation  

 Microbiology Laboratory, LSSTH, Bhavnagar is NABL Accreditated

Star Achievement Award  

 Star achievement award of the year 2009 for top performance in ICTC to sir T Hospital bhavnagar

Award of Excellence  

 Award of excellence 2009 - 10 Sir T Hospital bhavnagar ICTC general for vatsayan kendra

 Dr. S.S.Malek - Microcon - 2008, Ahmedabad, State level conference - oral paper presentation - won 1st prize. Dr. S.S.Malek - won 1st prize in quiz held at workshop on simple diagnostic methods in clinical microbiology at JIPMER, Pondichery.

Star Achievement Awards  

 - Award received from GSACS, "Star achiever for the year 2010 for the best performance in ICTC activity".

 - Award received from GSACS, "Star achiever for the year 2012 for the best performance in ICTC activity".


  CME on Antimicrobial resistance - "Current problem & possible solution".


(a) Competencies:

The undergraduate learner demonstrate:

                   1. Understanding of role of microbial agents in health and disease,

                    2. Understanding of the immunological mechanisms in health and disease,

                    3. Ability to correlate the natural history, mechanisms and clinical manifestations of 

                           Infectious diseases as they relate to the properties of microbial agents,

                      4. Knowledge of the principles and application of infection control measures,

                      5. An understanding of the basis of choice of laboratory diagnostic tests and their



Co-curricular Activities

  • Contribution to College Souvenir every time by staff members
  • Contribution to other activities by guidance to the students from staff members
  • Museum of microbiology department large number of exclusive charts and models which are frequently visited by concern students

First internal : 

                               Theory :   50 Marks 

                               Practical : 50 Marks

Second Internal:

                               Theory :   50 Marks

                                Practical : 50 Marks

Preliminary exam :

                              Theory :  paper 1 (100 marks)  paper 2 (100 marks)

                               Practical : 100 Marks


Select Year:
    Department of Microbiology
    Title Action

Department Publication

    Dr. Kairavi Jwalantbhai Desai (Professor & Head Of The Department)

    Dr. Nileshkumar Dhanjibhai Patel (Associate Professor)

    Dr. Ravindra D Jadeja (Assistant Professor)

    Dr. Shirishkumar Manubhai Patel (Assistant Professor)

    Dr. Saklainhaider s Malek (Assistant Professor)

    Dr. Pooja J Dholakiya (Tutor)

    Dr. Jatin Shashikant Sarvaiya (Tutor)

    Dr.Beena Jagad (Tutor)

    Dr. Suvas Devendrabhai Patel (Senior Resident)

    Dr. Aditi Gaur (Third Year Resident)

    Dr. Shital Vala (Third Year Resident)

    Dr. Ishita Kundaria (Third Year Resident)

    Dr. Mihir Oza (Second Year Resident)

    Dr. Kinjal Chauhan (Second Year Resident)

    Dr. Nehal Patel (Second Year Resident)

    Dr. Divya Kukadiya (Second Year Resident)

    Dr. Ankita Bhalala (Second Year Resident)

    Dr. Krupa Jayasukhbhai Dholiya (First Year Resident)

    Dr. Rohini S pillai (First Year Resident)